Eligible Institutions

CHESLA loans are available for undergraduate, graduate and professional study. Borrowers must be enrolled at least half-time in an accredited, non-profit college or university in Connecticut or be a Connecticut resident attending an accredited non-profit college or university in the U.S. on at least a half-time basis.

Apply Now

Clicking Apply Now will leave the CHESLA website and take you to Firstmark's website to complete the loan application.


Eligible Connecticut Institutions

  • Albertus Magnus College
  • Asnuntuck Community College
  • Capital Community College
  • Central Connecticut State University
  • Charter Oak State College
  • Connecticut College
  • CT ARC (CT Office of Higher Education)
  • Eastern Connecticut State University
  • Fairfield University
  • Gateway Community College
  • Goodwin College
  • Hartford Seminary
  • Holy Apostles College
  • Housatonic Community College
  • Lyme Academy College of Fine Arts
  • Manchester Community College
  • Middlesex Community College
  • Mitchell College
  • Naugatuck Valley Community College
  • Northwestern Community College
  • Norwalk Community College
  • Quinebaug Valley Community College
  • Quinnipiac University
  • Quinnipiac University School of Law
  • Rensselaer at Hartford
  • Sacred Heart University
  • Saint Vincent's College
  • Southern Connecticut State University
  • The Graduate Institute
  • Three Rivers Community College
  • Trinity College
  • Tunxis Community College
  • University of Bridgeport
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Hartford
  • University of New Haven
  • University of Saint Joseph CT
  • Wesleyan University
  • Western Connecticut State University
  • Yale University

Eligible Out-of-State Institutions

An eligible out-of-state institution is a college or university that is an accredited non-profit college or university in the U.S. Please contact Firstmark's Origination number at 800-935-2275 (option 3 for new borrowers) if you have a question as to whether your institution is eligible.